Women’s Rugby European Championship Starts in Bergen, Norway

7s FIRA-AER Division A, Bergen. The Women’s European Championships is divided into 3 divisions: Division B, Division A and the Women’s Grand Prix Series (two events). There are 12 countries in each division (36 countries in all), and this year Bergen is proud to host Division A (Norway, Scotland, Ukraine, Croatia, Switzerland, Finland, Denmark, Czech Republic, Moldova, Poland, Romania and Georgia).

The tournament will be played over two days and the first and second placed teams will gain promotion to the 2015 Women’s Grand Prix Series (currently in this group is Russia, England, France, Spain, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Wales, Germany, Belgium and Sweden).


IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset:  “We are excited and honoured for Rugby Sevens to be making its Olympic Games debut in Rio and believe that the Games will be great for Rugby and Rugby will be great for the Games. We are working in partnership with the Rio 2016 Organising Committee and the IOC to deliver a Rugby Sevens event that delivers outstanding competition, showcases our most skilful players, delivers a very special vibrant atmosphere and engages new and young audiences around the world.”

Lapasset: “We are delighted to be announcing a truly global qualification structure that presents the opportunity for all our Member Unions to participate, ensures at least one team from each IRB region qualifies and delivers the best teams and players to ensure Rugby Sevens contributes significantly to the success of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.”

“This structure comes with the full support of our national Member Unions, who are excited at the prospect of competing on the world’s greatest sporting stage and showcasing Rugby Sevens to new audiences in Brazil and around the world.”

The FIRA-AER Women’s 7s Championships in Bergen, is the next step on the ladder for these 12 teams in their pursuit of the Olympic Dream. The qualification for the 2016 Olympics in Rio will take place during the 2015 Women’s Grand Prix circuit, with the top five teams from the Grand Prix gaining the European places at the Rio Olympics. In order to qualify for the 2015 Grand Prix the teams in this year’s Group A need to be ranked in 1st and 2nd place at the end of the tournament in Bergen.

The Norwegian women´s national team in seven-a-side rugby made it´s debut on the European stage in 2003, playing the teams first European Championships qualification tournament in 2005, in Prague, Czech Republic.

Since then, 31 players have represented Norway in FIRA tournaments. After a successful 2013, the team reclaimed a place in Division A, keeping the dream of qualification for the Olympic Games in Rio, 2016, alive.


A Continuing Challenge of Fake And Substandard Medicaments

- Advertisment -

Must Read