Jens Stoltenberg Keeps His Leadership

– We will manage this trust with respect and humility. There are important tasks we have to face, Stoltenberg said in his speech afer the election.

Helga Pedersen and Raymond Johansen were also elected as vice-chairman, and party secretary. Anniken Huitfeld was unanimously re-elected female political leader of the Labour Party.

Trine Lise Sundnes (Oslo), Lynne Skjæran (Norway), Libe Rieber-Mohn (Oslo), Else-May Botten (Møre og Romsdal) and Shakeel Rehman (Østfold) have been elected as new members of the Executive Committee of the Labour Party.

Arve Bakke, Jan Davidsen, Marte Mjøs Persen, Torgeir Micaelsen, Trond Giske, Anette Tired Bergestuen, Jonas Gahr Støre, Cecilie Bjelland, Terje Lien Aasland, Ingvild Kjerkol and Kjersti Stenseng were also re-elected to the Executive Committee for two more years.

About Stolenberg

Jens Stoltenberg (born 16 March 1959) is the Prime Minister of Norway and leader of the Norwegian Labour Party. Having assumed office on 17 October 2005, Stoltenberg was also Prime Minister from 2000 to 2001.

Having first been elected to Parliament in 1993 for the Oslo constituency, Stoltenberg served as State Secretary in the Ministry of the Environment from 1990 to 1991 and as Minister of Industry from 1993 to 1996 in the Third Brundtland Cabinet, respectively. Following the resignation of Brundtland in 1996, Thorbjørn Jagland was elected leader of the Labour Party and became Prime Minister, while Stoltenberg was appointed Minister of Finance, an office he held until 17 October 1997 when Jagland and the entire government resigned. While in parliamentary opposition, Stoltenberg served in the standing committees on energy affairs. Following a motion of confidence against the First Bondevik Cabinet, Stoltenberg was appointed Prime Minister on 3 March 2000, despite being deputy leader of the party, and not the party leader.

After poor results in the 2001 parliamentary election, and the subsequent fall of his government on 19 October of that same year, Stoltenberg successfully challenged Thorbjørn Jagland for the party leadership in 2002, and led the party to victory in the 2005 election by forming a Red-Green coalition government with the Centre Party (Sp) and the Socialist Left Party (SV). He was re-elected in 2009 for another term as Prime Minister of Norway.

Are online drugstores permitted

- Advertisment -

Must Read