OPCW Director Calls Six Countries from Norway about Chemical weapons

Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) receives the Nobel Peace Prize in Oslo City Hall today.

Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) Ahmet Uzumcu said the prize money will be used to fund a new annual awards ceremony, organized by the OPCW.

– This prize will be in recognition of distinguished contributions to meet the Convention’s objectives. I am sure that civil society will continue to play an important role in this regard, says ÜzĂźmcĂź.

In his hisotric speech OPWC leader called the six countries that have not ratified the Convention on Chemical Weapons to do so immediately. The countries in question are Israel, Myanmar, Angola, Egypt, North Korea and South Sudan.

Uzumcu notes in his speech that there is no painless death and chemical wepaons should be eliminated.

– You can not see them, you can not smell them and they give no warning. But the impact is devastating – the victims are burned, blinded or suffocated. Death is rarely immediate and never painless, said Ahmet ÜzĂźmcĂź .

- Advertisment -

Must Read

New Government in Norway: Less Inequality, More Focus on Environment, Welfare...

Labor party leader Jonas Gahr Støre and Center Party (Sp) leader Trygve Slagsvold Vedum presented the new government platform on Wednesday at 14.00. - Now it's the...