OPCW Wins The Nobel Peace Prize

The Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), which has its headquarters in The Hague, Netherlands, is named as this year’s Nobel Peace Prize winner. VG confirmed that the UN organization becomes this year’s recipient of the Nobel Prize.

The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) is an intergovernmental organisation, located in The Hague, Netherlands. The organisation promotes and verifies the adherence to the Chemical Weapons Convention which prohibits of the use of chemical weapons and requires their destruction. The verification consists both of evaluation of declarations by members states and on-site inspections.

All 190 parties to the Chemical Weapons convention are automatically members of the OPCW. Non-members are Israel and Myanmar, which are signatory states that have not ratified the Chemical Weapons Convention, and Angola, Egypt, North Korea and South Sudan, which have neither signed nor acceded to the Chemical Weapons Convention. Syria was the most recent state to submit its instrument of accession to the treaty following the Framework for Elimination of Syrian Chemical Weapons.

  • Tags
- Advertisment -

Must Read