It was Easy to Decide on This year’s Nobel Peace Prize Winner

Talking to TV2, {Jagland} said it has been an interesting selection and not very complicated this time. He said they have had a very good and lengthy evaluation process and come up with another bold and disputed name.

Reminding the China’s boycott after the Peace Prize was awarded to dissident Liu Xiaobo, Jagland emphasized that the committee gets its authority by not having taken into account such considerations and national interests. 

– The award to Liu was a well deserved one. My impression is that it is not controversial in the international community. It is only controversial in some circles in Norway with commercial interests.

How Does The Committe Decide?

Each year, the Norwegian Nobel Committee specifically invites qualified people to submit nominations for the Nobel Peace Prize. The statutes of the Nobel Foundation specify categories of individuals who are eligible to make nominations for the Nobel Peace Prize. These nominators are:

Members of national assemblies and governments and members of the Inter-Parliamentary Union

  • Members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration and the International Court of Justice at the Hague
  • Members of Institut de Droit International
  • University professors of history, social sciences, philosophy, law and theology, university presidents and directors of peace research and international affairs institutes
  • Former recipients, including board members of organizations that have previously won the prize
  • Present and past members of the Norwegian Nobel Committee
  • Former permanent advisers to the Norwegian Nobel Institute

Nominations must usually be submitted to the Committee by the beginning of February in the award year. Nominations by committee members can be submitted up to the date of the first Committee meeting after this deadline.

The statutes of the Nobel Foundation do not allow information about nominations, considerations or investigations relating to awarding the prize to be made public for at least 50 years after a prize has been awarded. Over time many individuals have become known as “Nobel Peace Prize Nominees”, but this designation has no official standing. Nominations from 1901 to 1956, however, have been released in a database.


Nominations are considered by the Nobel Committee at a meeting where a short list of candidates for further review is created. This short list is then considered by permanent advisers to the Nobel institute, which consists of the Institute’s Director and the Research Director and a small number of Norwegian academics with expertise in subject areas relating to the prize. Advisers usually have some months to complete reports, which are then considered by the Committee to select the laureate. The Committee seeks to achieve a unanimous decision, but this is not always possible. The Nobel Committee typically comes to a conclusion in mid-September, but occasionally the final decision has not been made until the last meeting before the official announcement at the beginning of October.

The winners of last ten years

2001 Emblem of the United Nations.svg United Nations United Nations “for their work for a better organized and more peaceful world”
Kofi Annan, Photo: Harry Wad Kofi Annan Ghana
2002 Jimmy Carter.jpg Jimmy Carter United States “for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development”
2003 Ebadi.jpg Shirin Ebadi Iran “for her efforts for democracy and human rights. She has focused especially on the struggle for the rights of women and children.”
2004 Wangari Maathai in Nairobi.jpg Wangari Muta Maathai Kenya “for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace”
2005 Flag of IAEA.svg International Atomic Energy Agency United Nations “for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way”
Mohamed ElBaradei.jpg Mohamed ElBaradei Egypt
2006 Grameen Yunus Dec 04.jpg Muhammad Yunus Bangladesh “for advancing economic and social opportunities for the poor, especially women, through their pioneering microcredit work”
Grameen Bank
2007 Flag of the World Meteorological Organization.svg Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change United Nations “for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change”
Al Gore.jpg Al Gore United States
2008 Martti Ahtisaari.jpg Martti Ahtisaari Finland “for his efforts on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts”
2009 Official portrait of Barack Obama.jpg Barack Obama United States “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples.”
2010 Liu Xiaobo[G] China “for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China”
2011 Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, April 2010.jpg Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Liberia “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work”
Leymah-gbowee-at-emu-press-conference.jpg Leymah Gbowee
Tawakkul Karman (2011).jpg {Tawakel Karman} Yemen

Get help with high prescription medicine costs

- Advertisment -

Must Read