EEA Citizens are now free to reside in Norway

The EEA and Norway Grants were established in conjunction with the 2004 enlargement of the European Economic Area (EEA), which brings together the EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway in the Internal Market/Knut Bry / Oslo Lufthavn AS


By 1st of October,European Economic Area nationals are no more to apply for a residence permit in Norway. It is enough to register when they arrive.

The new registration scheme granting the right to EEA citizens live is in action instead of the current permit scheme for EEA nationals.

All EEA nationals who will be in Norway for more than 90 days will be able to take the advantage of the scheme, except for workers from Romania and Bulgaria which are covered by the transitional rules.

However, family members of the EEA citizens who are not EEA nationals must still apply for a residence permit under current regulations.